Learn about the city's COVID-19 response and resources. Learn more.

City News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

St. Louis Park recognized for commitment to achieving racial equity

City is one of 12 local government jurisdictions recognized by the League of Minnesota Cities

Post Date:July 05, 2017 4:20 p.m.

people receiving award for race equity workTwelve local government jurisdictions, including St. Louis Park, have been recognized with the League of Minnesota Cities President’s Award, presented as part of the League’s annual business meeting at the annual conference June 15, 2017, in Rochester, Minn.

The President’s Award provides the opportunity for the outgoing League president to recognize the efforts of an individual, group or organization that has helped to achieve a current League goal or to advance the League’s overall mission to promote excellence in government through effective advocacy, expert analysis and trusted guidance for all Minnesota cities. Outgoing President Rhonda Powell, Mayor of Northfield, extended the award to the local government jurisdictions that made up the 2016 race equity cohort. The cohort work was a cooperative effort of the League and its partner, the Government Alliance on Race and Equity (GARE). 

Jurisdictions included St. Louis Park, Bloomington, Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Duluth, Hopkins, Mankato, Maplewood, Minneapolis, the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board, Red Wing and Woodbury. 

Pownell noted that racial equity had been of the major themes of her presidency, and she commended the award recipients for their commitment and pioneering work to achieving racial equity in the policies, practices and procedures of their jurisdictions.

The accompanying photo shows St. Louis Park Mayor Jake Spano (far right) accepting the award with (left to right) Clarence Anthony, Executive Director, National League of Cities; Nora Slawik, Mayor, City of Maplewood; Josie Shardlow, Community Engagement Coordinator, City of Brooklyn Park; Sean Dowse, Mayor, City of Red Wing; Mike Funk, Assistant City Manager, City of Maplewood; and Rhonda Pownell, President, League of Minnesota Cities.

Return to full list >>