Charter Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Charter Commission has 15 members who are appointed by the chief judge of Hennepin County District Court. This group's mission is to evaluate and propose changes that are warranted in the city's home rule charter as provided by state statute. They also monitor legislative activities on an ongoing basis. Members serve on a volunteer basis, and a staff liaison provides assistance to record minutes, prepare agendas and perform other ministerial duties.

Meetings are held as needed and notice will be posted on this page when scheduled.  The next regular meeting of the Charter Commission will be held on March 13, 2018 at 5:30 pm at St. Louis Park City Hall. 

Please visit the Ranked Choice Voting Page for more information on upcoming meetings the Charter Commission is hosting on this topic. 

Charter Commission Members 

  • Sara Maaske, Chair 
  • David Dyer, Vice Chair
  • Terry Dwyer, Secretary
  • Maren Anderson
  • JC Beckstrand
  • Jim Brimeyer
  • Gary Carlson
  • Irving Lynne Carper
  • Matthew Flory
  • James de Lambert
  • Ken Gothberg
  • Henry Solmer
  • Andrew Rose
  • Erin Smith

Agendas & Minutes

Meeting Date
March 13, 2018  Agenda   
March 6, 2018 No Agenda - Listening Session  Minutes 
February 13, 2018  No Agenda - Expert Q&A Panel  Minutes 
Jan. 10, 2018 Agenda Minutes 
Dec. 6, 2017 Agenda Minutes
Oct. 24, 2017 Agenda  Minutes 
March 21, 2017  Agenda  Minutes 
Feb. 22, 2017 Agenda Minutes
March 22, 2016
Agenda Minutes
March 12, 2015 Agenda Minutes
March 6, 2014 Agenda Minutes
March 13, 2013 Agenda Minutes

Commission Liaison

Melissa Kennedy

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer