Homestead classification requirements
- You must own and occupy the property as your primary residence before Dec. 1.
- You must be a Minnesota resident.
- Married couples are considered "one unit" for the purpose of homestead. Applications must include information for both spouses, even if just one name appears on the deed.
- Owners that are not married must complete their own homestead application.
Relative homestead requirements
- You must be a relative or an in-law of the owner (son, daughter, parent, grandchild, grandparent, brother, sister, aunt, uncle, niece or nephew).
- You must occupy the property as your primary residence.
- You must be a Minnesota resident. If the occupant is a relative of the owner, the owner does not have to be a Minnesota resident.
How to apply
There are three ways to apply for homestead classification on your property:
- Online — Apply online on Hennepin County's website.
- By mail — Complete the PDF homestead application and mail it to:
City of St. Louis Park
5005 Minnetonka Blvd.
St. Louis Park, MN 55416
- In person — Apply in person at city hall, 5005 Minnetonka Blvd.
- You must bring evidence of the title transfer, such as a warranty deed, contract for deed, certificate of title, quit claim deed, etc.
Note: You must apply for homestead classification by Dec. 15 to qualify for homestead classification the following year.
After the first filing, your homestead status is automatically renewed. No further action is required until you sell or rent your home, or no longer use it as your primary residence.
If you have a relative homestead, it must be confirmed every year. Assessing staff will send you a card that must be signed and returned.
Removing your homestead status
If you sell, move or no longer qualify for homestead for any reason, you must notify the assessor’s office within 30 days. If you don’t, your property tax may be recalculated as non-homestead, and it could include a penalty equal to 100 percent of the homestead benefits.
St. Louis Park Assessing Division