History

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The first building at Westwood Hills Nature Center opened in 1981, but the area has a long and interesting history that dates back many years earlier. In 1928, Westwood Hills Country Club opened with 27 holes and 9,405 total yards. The golf course thrived for a number of years, but by the mid-1950s, it was no longer profitable

In the early 1960s, the land was used as a day camp for local residents.

Beginning in 1970, the city began exploring the idea of creating a nature center in the area, and construction of the interpretative building began a decade later.

Today, Westwood Hills Nature Center provides visitors of all ages the chance to explore the natural world — right here in St. Louis Park.